Did You Know? 3.0

This video was shocking, which I’m sure it is meant to be. It really got me thinking about the type of things that were presented in a whole new light and presented facts that I never would have expected were true. I had no idea the amount of technology there was and what is expected in the future. The information presented was definitely scary. It is kind of disturbing to think that there will be computers that can do more than a human brain….and in 2049 it is expected that a computer will exceed the computational capabilities of the entire human species.

These facts and figures do change my idea of majors and career opportunities. I am reminded of the fact that there are many jobs available for a particular major, and even then, the major someone chooses most likely will not be the field they end up starting their career in. It actually left me more confused and torn about what I want to do with my life than before…while I was already quite confused. I am still far off from deciding what I want to do. It is very strange to think that I may end up in a job that isnt even created yet, but that makes it all the more difficult to know what to be studying in school. Technology is advancing so rapidly that it is causing people to have to catch up and constantly be chasing the “newest thing”.

 

About lindseyugst

Freshman at UNT as an undecided major

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

